Uncategorized

Home

I recently joined Photo 101 at Blogging U. Assignment #1 is to use photography to represent “home.” Seems simple enough, but it got me thinking about what aspect of my home I would most like to share. My family is the heart of my home, so home would follow me like a turtle shell, but my actual living space is ingrained in the thought of home also. We have lived in the same place for over 20 years, most of my children’s lives. Every corner of the yard and space in this house is intertwined with memories. Every tree and flower on our property was planted by us. How could I represent this in a photo?HOME1074.JPG

This is what I came up with. Though not as aesthetically pleasing as I would like, metaphorically I’m happy with it. First and foremost is my family. The door, always open to friends and family, looks out on just a portion of the yard we so lovingly created. There are things lying around, as there always are. Our home is not magazine cover perfection. It is lived in. It is meant to be a space of comfort, peace, and love.

8 thoughts on “Home

  1. You managed to achieve in one shot what it took me seven to capture. This is really excellent, the way you managed to incorporate home’s complexity into a single compelling image. I hope to follow your example in my later photos. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. You’re very generous in your compliment. I don’t know that the photo would have had the same effect without all the explanation. I’m working toward letting the picture speak for itself. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

