Bridges


This is a great challenge! I love bridges. You can find the challenge here if you want to play along.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is mg_8100.jpg
Larwood Bridge, Scio, Oregon

I’ve been trying to find Oregon’s covered bridges over the past couple of years. They’re all very pretty, but it’s been hard to find them with the right lighting or season to make a great photo. I lucked out on the Larwood Bridge shot. It was such a beautiful fall morning! And early! This is cougar country, so I spent a lot of time looking over my shoulder.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is harris-covered-bridge-3176.jpg
Harris Bridge, Benton County, Oregon

Harris Bridge is one of my favorites to shoot. It’s a super quiet road, and there aren’t a lot of visual distractions, so I can play around with angles.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is mg_3996-edit-2.jpg
Lowell Covered Bridge at Christmas

I made at least 3 trips down to Dexter Reservoir in Eugene to try to catch the lights on Lowell Bridge. They took their sweet time putting them up, but I finally got the shot with Christmas lights on it.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is yaquinabridge-2052.jpg
Yaquina Bay Bridge, Newport, Oregon

The Yaquina Bay Bridge is one of my favorite bridges. It’s an iconic Oregon Coast landmark, and looks great in any weather and any angle, it seems. I did a subtle moody edit on this one. I like that there was a boater at the bottom to give it a sense of scale.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is tamolich1081.jpg
An old-fashioned boy’s bridge

Anything can be a bridge, right? The last photo is my son crossing the McKenzie River near the Blue Pool trail. He made it. His friend didn’t. Boys! The friend did manage to cling onto the log until we could help him out. (This is an ice cold river!) Lucky for him, we had thrown an extra set of clothes and shoes in the car.

8 thoughts on “Bridges

Leave a comment